To continue to use this website you first need to accept the use of cookies. Without accepting cookies, you will not be able to use certain features such as the Member's Zone. For more information, read this page.

The Halford Hewitt

The Halford Hewitt is unquestionably the major event in the EAGC golfing calendar, and a much-prized entry on any amateur golfing CV. First held in 1924, the trophy is competed for by the former pupils of 64 English and Scottish public schools, with teams of five pairs of foursomes. Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club, located at Deal, is the spiritual home of the competition whilst one half of the first round draw is played at nearby Royal St. George's.

EAGC first competed in the tournament in 1936, and have entered a team every year since 1948. The club won the trophy in 2003 beating Charterhouse 3 ½ - 1½ in a closely fought final. More recently, the club won the plate in 2014.

2003 Halford Hewitt - Trophy Winners

Back row l-r: Iain MacDonald, Ollie Lindsay, Mike McPhee, Charlie Maran, Michael Gray
Front row l-r: David Simson, Steve Malcolm, Ken Hannah, John Lang (Captain), Iain Smith, Chris Tugwell

1st Round King's Canterbury 3½-1½ 2nd Round Uppingham 3-2 3rd Round Marlborough 4-1
Quarter-Final Malvern 4-1 Semi-Final Whitgift 3-2 Final Charterhouse 3½-1½ !

2018 - After final practice...

2014 Halford Hewitt - Plate Winners

l-r: Bertie Allison, Scott Bell, Richard Loudon, Joe Lockie, Ken Hannah, Iain MacDonald

2015 photo gallery

2018 photo gallery

Grafton Morrish - Royal West Norfolk - 5th-7th October 2018